G-Force Academy

Florida Homeschool Family Fun!

Foghorns and School Bells

Todd Wilson of Familyman Ministries recently spoke to our local homeschool support group. It was bombastic! We laughed and cried and heard the gentle voice of God through Todd encouraging moms and dads alike.

The Lord spoke so clearly to Alf and I that we left with clanging and ringing in our ears. Let me explain. It was exactly what my husband and I have been discussing. Todd gave voice to our thoughts and painted a clear picture of where our homeschool family has been and needs to go.

According to Todd’s informal poll of homeschool moms across the nation, we ALL feel like we are not doing a good enough job. Yes, each and every mom out there feels like you do! Like I do! No matter what they look like on the outside and how their kids are excelling academically and otherwise we all wish we could do better to some degree. He believes we mom’s are in a fog because we have forgotten that our kids are all masterpieces, created by God and given specifically to us. We are hand selected by God to be our kid’s mom.

I have often been tempted and succumbed to comparing our homeschool to others. I think we all have done that at times. Our desire to give our kids the best can drive us but it can also drive our kids into the ground and we lose site of what’s most important, our relationships to our kids and the Lord purpose. I have raised my standard higher than the Lord’s at times and totally crashed our “school boat” by not heading the warning of the foghorn.

Wikipedia definition for Foghorn is:

Foghorn

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

For other meanings see Foghorn (disambiguation).

A foghorn or fog signal or fog bell is a device that uses sound to warn vehicles of hazards or boats of the presence of other vehicles in foggy conditions. The term is most often used in relation to marine transport. When visual navigation aids such as lighthouses are obscured, foghorns provide an audible warning of rocks, shoals, headlands, or other dangers to shipping.

On our worst days when we are ready to throw the kids on the yellow bus or throw ourselves in front of it, God says We are our kids best!

to warn vehicles of hazards or boats of the presence of other vehicles in foggy conditions”

We don’t need to compare ourselves to the system that we fled from. The test scores, the extra curricular activities, the fellow homeschool friend’s kids that are reading at 3 years of age and all playing stringed instruments are not our standard or reason for homeschooling. This is a trap to distract us from seeing our kids as the unique masterpieces God mad them to be.

“When visual navigation aids such as lighthouses are obscured, foghorns provide an audible warning”

Why do you homeschool? I am doing it because God called me to. That’s my navigational aid. The Lord and his word and calling on my life as a homeschool mom. We want to have deep and abiding relationships with our kids and for them to grow strong in their faith above academics. I want them to want to be with us when they are older and out of the home. We want our kids to be the best of friends and not be separated from each other for hours on end. We wanted to teach enjoy every moment we had with them because time flies whether or not you are having fun!

Dad’s were encouraged to help us get out of the fog by actually making foghorn sound. When my hubby comes home from work and finds me in a puddle on the floor all he has to do is “blow” his foghorn and it reminds me of why I am doing this and I get up and press on!

Now here is the really fun part, ringing the true school bell. Real school happens when we get to teach our kids about the Lord, walk them through a difficult time, and when they say things that show us that they are growing in Christ and being obedient. When times are tough and the stress level is high and our kids suggest to us to play praise music or want to stop and pray, that’s when school’s in session. This is our purpose and upmost goal for our kids education. Math, reading and science are secondary.

I have had quite a few opportunities since hearing Todd speak to ring our school bell. My husband is overjoyed when I call him to tell him that I just rang our bell.

I want my kids to know that I love them no matter what! I want them to know that I will always love them and value them whether or not they ever learn to read, or learn algebra or get high SAT scores.

What bell do you hear? Are you in the fog and ignoring the warnings? Are you ringing YOUR school bell or listening to someone else’s ring?

To learn more about Todd Wilson and sign up for his encouraging devotionals visit Family Man Ministries.

 

"And be not conformed to this world: but be you transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God."

Romans 12:2

November 17, 2011 - Posted by | G-Force Academy, On My Heart, Once Upon A Family | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Great Post! Ding-Ding….Ding-Ding!

    Comment by swshMary | November 17, 2011 | Reply

  2. Excellent article! I was just talking to my husband last night about the very same issues. Love the analogy of the foghorn and bell!!

    Comment by Sharon Chapman | September 20, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

