G-Force Academy

Florida Homeschool Family Fun!

31 Day Challenge 2011, Part Two

good quote...

31 Day Challenge

Here is my 2011 “TO Be” list:

· Juicing during day except for dinner for a week

· create and follow family schedule

· a date with Alf twice a month

· Monthly date with each individual child

· Begin to wake 15 minutes earlier every other day until I reach 6:01 AM

· Homeschool stuff, timeline, graduation stuff, lesson planner pages, semester lesson plans

· Cook healthy avoid processed foods

· Holiday planner pages

· Weekly Mommy and Me time.

· Incorporate family fun night and worship night

  Finalize foster care paperwork and setting up bedroom and supplies

· Try Shabbat

· Work on Family Celebrations binder

· FPEA Ambassador

· Finish bible study

· Blog planner

· Read 1 or 2 books per month

WHOA! WAIT A MINUTE! This is looking like a to do list! Stopping to pray… (Jeopardy thinking song playing for your enjoyment)

Ok, I have collected myself and my list and dumped it at the feet of Jesus.

In order to be able to become that woman God has called ME to be I need to PRIORITIZE. I recently came across an old planner Priority Planner written by Linda Dillow. It was meant to go along with her book Creative Counterpart. Here is a blog post I found about it on Pursuing Heart .

Picture Courtesy of Pursuing Heart

I love how the author still has her 1984 planner. How wonderful to be able to look back at what you were up to and what you were like back then. It just tickles my futuristic bone. I even found a vintage one on Etsy. How cool is that?!

The concept is simple, plan your days according to 6 priorities. I love Mrs. Dillow’s suggestion of six priorities to focus on for women. They are:

1. God

2. Husband

3. Children

4. Home

5. Self

6. Outside the Home

I have been working on creating my own planner based on my roles and values. tying your values to your roles in life helps you to better define your priorities and plan accordingly. Mrs. Dillow suggestions tie in beautifully with this concept.  God has been giving me lots of puzzle pieces to strengthen our family this year. I am enjoying putting the pieces together Knowing God has the final picture in mind brings peace.

These priorities clearly define the calling the LORD has put on my life. I have been called to love and serve my God, my husband, my children, my home, my extended family, friends, church family and ministries.

I am keeping Efesians 4:1-2 in mind as I write out my list.

1 As a prisoner for the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received. 2 Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. 3 Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.

I can prioritize better when I strive for godly character. I hope this inspires you to get some sisters together and challenge each other in your own callings. Here are the priorities in purple attached to each “to be”:

· Juicing during day except for dinner for a week SELF

· create and follow family schedule HOME

· a date with Alf twice a month HUSBAND

· Monthly date with each individual child CHILDREN

· Begin to wake 15 minutes earlier every other day until I reach 6:01 AM GOD

· Homeschool stuff, timeline, graduation stuff, lesson planner pages, semester lesson plans CHILDREN

· Cook healthy avoid processed foods SELF, SPOUSE, CHILDREN

· Holiday planner pages HOME, OTHERS

· Weekly Mommy and Me time. CHILDREN

· Incorporate family fun night and worship night GOD, FAMILY LEGACY

  Finalize foster care paperwork and setting up bedroom and supplies OTHERS

· Try shabatt at least once per month GOD, FAMILY LGACY

· Work on Family Celebrations binder GOD, FAMILY LEGACY

· FPEA ambassador stuff OTHERS

· Finish bible study GOD

· Blog weekly FAMILY LEGACY, OTHERS

· Read 1 or 2 books per month SELF

let love...

I feel better now looking at this list through the godly priorities lens. I have full confidence that the Lord himself will guide my steps everyday in accomplishing these. Leave a comment if you want to join in the challenge. You don’t need such a long list but I am crazy like that! I will post a weekly update of my progress and what I am learning along the way. I hope to be done by the first week in December, right in time for the holidays!

Happy Homemaking!

November 2, 2011 - Posted by | MOMtime, Moni's Homeplace, On My Heart, Organized Optimist | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. How fun to see that you referred to my Priority Planner post! It is so helpful to keep priorities in mind, as the busyness of life can crowd out the most important things. And yes, I have enjoyed keeping my planners from previous years – is a good record of our family and happenings. May God give you joy and wisdom as you seek to live out the priorities He has given you.

    Comment by Cherry | November 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

