G-Force Academy

Florida Homeschool Family Fun!

31 Day Challenge 2011, Part One

amen

Last year a couple of friends and I decided to take 21 days to hold each other accountable in the things we wanted to accomplish in our lives. We were tired of talking about it and one of us, Melisa, issued the 21 Day Challenge. We recognized that we needed help and that God meant for us to carry each other’s burden’s and not take our faith walk alone. We are sisters and we had a power within each of us greater than any in the world, the Holy Spirit.

Surely, with God nothing is hopeless especially with each other’s prayer, encouragement and accountability we should succeed.

Here was my list:

· Cardio 15 minutes 5x’s a week

· 1 completed load of laundry daily

· Wake at 6:01 ( the number one to remind us that God is #1 and we must make time to be in His word first)

· Make Alf breakfast and send him off with a kiss (Alf is my #2)

· Quiet time/bible study daily

· Pray for my family and others, journal requests and answers ( I want a written record of His grace for future generations)

· 1 box of junk eliminated daily (that shouldn’t take more than half an hour)

· Bake daily, whether bread, muffins, pancakes, tortillas (get whole grains in us daily)

· Menu plan

· Garden

· Computer at the end of the day when “my list” is completed and Alf is ok with it

Focus Verse:

“You are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, His own special people, that you may proclaim the praises of Him, who called you out of darkness into His marvelous light; who once were not a people but are now the people of God, who had not obtained mercy but now have obtained mercy.”

1 Peter 2:9-10 (NKJ)

The one thing I remember most about that challenge is that as I worked on my list I was a sweeter momma and wife. I wanted to be able to speak kindly and not yell at my kids. Focusing and accomplishing the goals the Lord had put on my heart created a peacefulness that flowed from heaven itself. And I not only succeeded for 21 days but my steadfastness lasted almost 4 months. I do not remember now what made me stray. I would have to find it somewhere in my journal. I want that again. A whole year older and wiser I hope to achieve new goals.

The challenge has been reissued!

In 2010 I viewed my “list” as a list of “to do’s”. Today I see it as a “to be” list. To be the woman God has given me the vision to become. Today is my father’s birthday. He died not having fully lived his life to the fullest he lived with regrets. I want to live fully and on purpose, being prayerful and proactive in my choices that I might reach the end of my days not feeling like butter scraped thinly over toast as Bilbo Baggins said in The Fellowship of the Ring, but like heaping globs of sweet strawberry jam piled high on that toast!

I choose to believe that I can become that woman through the provisions God has made for me by His loving sacrifice on the cross and with the power and direction of the Holy Spirit that is within me!

“His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and goodness”

2 Peter 1:3

I will post my “TO BE” list soon.

 

November 2, 2011 - Posted by | MOMtime, Moni's Homeplace, On My Heart, Organized Optimist | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

