G-Force Academy

Florida Homeschool Family Fun!

Grandparent’s Day

National Grandparents Day is a secular holiday celebrated in the United States since 1978 and officially recognized in a number of countries on various days of the year, either as one holiday or sometimes as a separate Grandmothers Day and Grandfathers Day.

43630038

Here are some resources to inspire you to honor your kid’s grandparents.

There are many coloring pages that can be inserted into cards or just have your kids draw pictures of their grandparents. You can include some poetry or scripture below.

Poetry

“Grandparents are meant for kisses and hugs,
For watching rainbows and catching bugs,
For baking all of your favorite things,
For books to read and songs to sing.”
Author unknown

Grandparents
Grandparents bestow upon
their grandchildren
The strength and wisdom that time
And experience have given them.
Grandchildren bless their Grandparents
With a youthful vitality and innocence
That help them stay young at heart forever.
Together they create a chain of love
Linking the past with the future.
The chain may lengthen,
But it will never part….
– Unknown Author

S6301693

Scripture

Proverbs 17:6 Grandchildren are the crown of the aged, and the glory of children is their fathers
Psalm 103:17 But the steadfast love of the Lord is from everlasting to everlasting on those who fear him, and his righteousness to children’s children,
Psalm 37:25 I have been young, and now am old, yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken or his children begging for bread.
Proverbs 13:22 A good man leaves an inheritance to his children’s children, but the sinner’s wealth is laid up for the righteous.
Psalm 145:4 One generation shall commend your works to another, and shall declare your mighty acts.
2 Timothy 1:5 I am reminded of your sincere faith, a faith that dwelt first in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice and now, I am sure, dwells in you as well.

Photo Crafts

photo frame kids craft

Make a photo frame out of a CD case. Make it extra special by including a CD of special pictures of the kids and their grandparents over the years. A great way to do this is using programs like Moviemaker or Picasa.

Decoupage tray craft for kids

A tray decoupaged with the kids pics would make a precious keepsake. I recommend that you run copies (color or b/w) since paper is easier to decoupage than photo paper. I have used with success just plain old white school glue as the decoupage medium. I can see my mom using it every time her friends come over for coffee. A subtle way for her to brag about her grandkids, not that any grandparent is ever subtle about their love for their grandkids!

Just genius! Take a dollar store frame and and cover with sculpey clay or any air hardening clay would also work. Have kids personalize with stamps. Bake and insert picture for a unique gift. You can use letter stamps to add whatever your kids call their grandparent’s.

Have a Party!

Let the kids be in charge of decorating. Buy all the ingredients for baking cookies but let them wait for their honored guest so they can bake the cookies together! We are planning a surprise party for my mom when she comes to visit next week. We are making a “We Love You Abuela” Poster as part of the decorations.

Don’t forget to take lots of pictures. You will be able to use them for gifts next yearWinking smile.

Handprint Coupons

On each handprint the child writes a promise – "This coupon is good for one hug", "Exchange this coupon for a car wash", "I will help you lay the table for this coupon", "Breakfast in bed" and so on.

  • >Layer them inside a nice box which the child decorate and tie up with a ribbon
  • >Punch a hole in each handprint and attach together with a key-ring fitting

Add this note to the coupons. I am sure it will be a treasured keepsake for any grandparent.

"I miss you when we’re not together
I’m growing up so fast
See how big I’ve gotten
Since you saw me last?
As I grow, I’ll change a lot,
The years will fly right by.
You’ll wonder how I grew so quick –
When and where and why?
So save this print in a safe place
And take it out each year.
The memories will come back of me,
When I was small and dear."

"My dirty little fingerprints
I’ve left on every wall,
And on the drawers and table tops,
I’ve really marked them all.
But here is one that won’t rub off,
I’m giving it to you,
Because I’m thankful for a (mother, father, brother, sister) just like you!"

Finally, the best gift you can give your mom or dad on grandparent day is a DIY  memory book. My dad passed away 2 years ago and I wish I knew more about him even though I had him with me for 40 years. His old glasses, letters, handkerchief are precious indeed but having his story in his own words and penned by his very hand would be a priceless keepsake.

I am gifting this to myself by giving it first to my mom. I can’t wait to read her answers when she is done. I bet she can answer a lot of the questions in the memory for dad.

Here are some good ones to choose from:

*I strongly believe in do-overs. If you didn’t know about Grandparent’s Day or you haven’t had time to put something special together in their honor then by all means pick a rain date! the point is to teach your children to love and honor their grandparents. Especially in a culture that doesn’t regard the elderly with much respect you can make sure your parents do. Spread the word so others can share the love.

S6301825

But if a widow has children or grandchildren, let them first learn to show godliness to their own household and to make some return to their parents, for this is pleasing in the sight of God.

1 Timothy 5:4

Go Make Some Memories!

September 11, 2011 - Posted by | Familia, Family Fun, Holidays, Once Upon A Family

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

