G-Force Academy

Florida Homeschool Family Fun!

Calm For My Anxious Heart

Calm My Anxious Heart: A Woman's Guide to Finding Contentment

I received a free eBook download offer for the book Calm my Anxious Heart by Linda Dillow from Money Saving Mom in my inbox today. I recently cried out to the Lord to lift my spirits. I felt bogged down with too many to do’s while dealing with a week long cold.

I just read the first two pages and I am convinced that I have the unholy habit of discontent. I have allowed myself to be consumed by lies. I had been feeling anxious about running out of time with my kids and questioning if I have done enough to make an impact for Christ in their lives never mind the academics! I suspect most homeschooling moms of teens feel this way. I felt overwhelmed and defeated.

Here’s a quote from the book:

”…like a horse with blinders on only seeing the dirty road straight ahead. She never raised her gaze upward to God or counted her blessings. She had a blurred perspective, an unholy habit of discontent.”

I, I feel, I think, I, I, I! Everywhere I go there I am! the enemy of my soul and family waits to whisper lies that rob me of my peace and effectiveness in my daily calling to serve my family. BUT GOD, OUTSCREAMED THOSE LIES! Like Holy thunder making my heart quiver in reverence and repentance.

It reminds me of the scene in Lord of the Rings where Gandalf gets loud, and big to shake some sense into Bilbo. “BILBO BAGGINS! Do not take me for some conjuror of cheap tricks! I am not trying to rob you. I’m trying to help you..” He had to let go of the ring that has ensnared him. Once He had his attention, Gandalf bent down and Bilbo ran into his arms with a sorrowful heart. Is that not how our Lord is with is HIs children?

1

Gandalf: "Bilbo Baggins!"

2

[The very air seems to shake as Gandalf draws himself up to full height. His voice thunders throughout Bag End.]

Gandalf: "Do not take me for some conjurer of cheap tricks. I am not trying to rob you. I’m trying to help you."

3

[Bilbo starts weeping. He stumbles towards Gandalf, who embraces him gently.]

4

5

Gandalf: "All your long years we’ve been friends. Trust me as you once did, hmm? Let it go."

6

7

The enemy is the one who almost robbed me! I forgot to remember to fix my gaze on Christ, to trust Him with the sum of my kid’s lives, and to be free to just have fun with them.

Even though I am a little stunned by this revelation, I am humbled and filled with praise that my Lord would deliver to me the answer to my prayer, quickly and with a freebie book by the woman that I am already reading. Her book Intimate Issues and it is wonderful. I don’t have a kindle but was happy to see that you can download a free pc version, which I did. Hope you enjoy it.

clip_image001

8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Phil 4:8

March 9, 2011 - Posted by | Favorites and Cool Finds, On My Heart

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

