G-Force Academy

Florida Homeschool Family Fun!

Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe

 43

Every year that I attend the FPEA Homeschool Convention in Orlando, Florida, I have one prayer; “Lord teach me one thing that will give me vision and focus for the coming school year and bring you glory.” I didn’t attend this year but will I plan to have a weekend away this summer to ask the Lord my yearly question.  After I said my prayer in May 2008 I walked through the glass doors of the magnificent Rosen Shingle Creek Resort Hotel and was met by the hustle and bustle of homeschool families making their way to their seminars of choice.

I attended Jessica Hulcy’s seminar, “An Education for Princes and Nobility”. She is my guru and mentor to many.  I always seek a hug and encouragement from her at her booth. She is so sweet and her eyes and hug always make me feel like it’s gonna be ok. She’s the co-author of Konos and holds online c-op classes at Home School Mentor. She said many things but, the one thing that rang a bell or rather a gong in my head was “ you are not responsible for the full sum of your child’s life!” Huh?! She went on to elaborate by stating that my kids are learning everywhere they go and will continue to learn into high school, college and through all of adult life and I will not be responsible for it. God will. God? Right! Yes! God!

He has a plan for them and it does not compare to mine. His plans are better and eternal. What a relief those words brought to my heart. I had been feeling so stretched with one in kindergarten and one getting ready for high school, and this bought me the “aha!” moment I was needing.

The following day I attended Todd Wilson’s seminar, “Lies Homeschool Moms Believe”. He spoke about the standards that we homeschool moms impose on ourselves and to walk in freedom to be who are, because God intended for us to be our kids’ mom flaws and all. Ok, so there’s God’s purpose again, I thought to myself. Slowly the room became quiet, he almost whispered, “Moms, you are not responsible for the entire sum of your kids education”. 

WHAT! Did he just say what I think he said?! I thought with eyes bugging out. He proceeded to repeat it. “Moms, you are not responsible for the total sum of your kids education” WHAT?! He can hear me? Did he repeat it for me?!!!

My fellow homeschool moms this was a boombastic, God in stereo-surround sound moment! How did He manage to get them to say the same thing to little ole me?

I am so humbled to serve a loving, all knowing, holy, ever-present God. I serve Him WILL hear yours!

He cares for our little homeschools and he has a master plan for our kids and we just need to enjoy them and teach them how to learn and to love to learn, everything else is in HIS capable, loving hands.  With all that said, I recommend wholeheartedly Todd Wilson’s book, Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe. The book has helped me to see the lies I have been believing pertaining to our homeschool journey. You can visit his website at Family Man Ministries

What is God whispering to your homeschool heart as you prepare for your next school year? Leave your thoughts below in the comment box.

Happy Schooling!

Monica

May 30, 2009 - Posted by | G-Force Academy

4 Comments »

  1. I don’t know if you heard, this note was shared with my homeschool group by one of it’s members on May 20.

    Please pray for Jessica Hulcy, writer of the KONOS homeschool curriculum. She was in a terrible car accident this morning, where she was broadsided by a firetruck. As of the last update, she is in critical condition. Both lungs have collapsed, and there is brain injury, but right now doctors do not think it requires surgery. She has been unconscious since the accident.

    Please pray for Jessica, Wade, her husband, and her family. Pray for healing.

    Comment by MelissaB | June 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. […] $3! We’ve heard him speak at FPEA Convention. I blogged about it. You can read it by clicking HERE. He’s hilarious and real! He wrote the book LIES Homeschooling Moms Believe. It will make a fun […]

    Pingback by Homeschool Parent’s Night Out with Todd Wilson of Familyman Ministries « G-Force Academy | October 14, 2011 | Reply

  3. Hi there every one, here every person is sharing these familiarity,
    thus it’s nice to read this website, and I used to go to see this webpage everyday.

    Comment by zoloft heart defects | July 29, 2013 | Reply

  4. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like
    yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally,
    if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you
    did, the internet will be much more useful than ever
    before.

    Comment by does derm exclusive fill and freeze work | September 20, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

